Wednesday, November 24, 2010

How to get your crunk on - ethically.

When telling my friend that we were going to offer vegan alcohol at the vegan party coming up this Friday she replied what my naive brain had thought for many years: "Isn't all alcohol vegan?"
Oh, silly you. That's what I thought too! But fish bladders and gelatin are (strangely enough) not vegan or even vegetarian! The online vegan wine and beer guide Barnivore, has listed companies who uses animal products such as dairy, egg whites, gelatin, isinglass (fish bladders) and sometimes a "whole chicken" as ingredients for their spirits, wines and beers.
Most of these companies do not list these fascinating ingredients on the label. Why? Well for starters, they are not obligated to do that by law. Secondly, fish bladders and boiled pig bones does not actually sound appetizing for a lot of people. I mean, even meat eaters would be a bit apprehensive drinking a fish's questionable body parts right?
So, if you are serious about being a vegan, a vegetarian, or a non-bladder eating person, go and check yo party juice. 'Cause the jucie aint gonna check itself fool.






1 comment:

Eddie said...

That is true, I have been hearing that for years. Lots of great beer out there is sold as vegan at a whole foods or health foods store, and they are yummy. I don't what in the UK is vegan yet, if America I could tell you that my favorite beer, Yuengling is vegan. I know, because I wrote them a letter and asked.